Your Spiritual Type

I remember reading about the types of yoga in the Bhagavad-Gita. I still go back to it again and again as a powerful vision of what the spiritual life could look like. Hinduism highlights several types of yogas or spiritual paths. In my mind, they are like spiritual types. No person is only one type, though one or two may be predominant. Here they are:

Bhakti Yoga
Bhakti Yoga emphasizes on the love and devotion to the Divine. The individual performing this type of Yoga concentrates on the existence of Divine often in a particular form. He/she learns to show love, compassion to the creatures co-existing with him/her, through keenly worshipping the Lord. Bhakti Yoga can be practiced in a number of ways, such as praising the God by singing, chanting, reading religious books, listening to prayers and by watching religious movies.

Jnana Yoga
The Yoga of true knowledge, Jnana Yoga aims to detach the person performing it, from all the temporary things of the life. The person doing it attains tranquility, control over his/her mind, sense, faith, ability for concentration and the endurance to withstand the play of opposites by Mother Nature. By practising Jnana Yoga, the individual stays single-minded in all situations and attains self-control.

Karma Yoga
As the name suggests, Karma Yoga is the dedication of all the actions (karma) and their fruits to the Almighty. This type of Yoga purifies one's heart, and helps attain the knowledge of one's own self. The aim of a Karma Yogic (one, who performs Karma Yoga) is to provide selfless service to the poor and the needy, without expecting money, fame, power, respect and honor in return of the service.



Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

A Second Coming Out - Eros United

The Lessons of Aphrodite - Pleasure: Lesson 2

The Lessons of Aphrodite - The Body: Lesson 3